Organization profile

The Department of Environmental Sciences started 1.1.2010 by joining together the Aquatic and Environmental Sciences and Environmental Ecology. The new department is based at the Viikki campus in Helsinki and at the environmental campus in Lahti, thus forming a strong and broad university unit for environmental education and research.

The major main subjects are: Aquatic Sciences, Environmental Ecology and Environmental Change and Policy. It is also possible to do a Master's degree which gives qualifications for teaching in biology. Research at the department covers both biologically and socially oriented environmental research. Strong skills in both disciplines and cross-disciplines give a good basis for solution -oriented research and teaching based on the most recent environmental knowledge.

Fields of Science

  • 118 Biological sciences
  • 219 Environmental biotechnology
  • 117 Geography, Environmental sciences

International and National Collaboration

Publications and projects within past five years.