Stages of Adolescence

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterScientificpeer-review


Adolescence is the phase of transition from being a child to an adult which is roughly considered to be the period between 11 and 19 years of age. The adolescent experiences not only physical growth and change, but also emotional, psychological, social, and mental change and growth. Adolescence can be broadly categorized as three stages – early adolescence (approximation age 11 to 13 years), middle adolescence (approximation age 14 to 17 years), and late adolescence (approximation age 17 to 19 years). Moreover, a stage of emerging adulthood has been introduced for the years 18 to 25 which is, however, a controversial and conditional phase. I will present and discuss the first three stages of the development of adolescence, and why they differ from one another. The biological perspective in terms of physical, sexual, brain, and related emotional development is discussed first. Cognitive development is then discussed, followed by social development, and then identity and mental health development. Finally, the emerging adulthood period is presented.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationEncyclopedia of Adolescence
EditorsB. Bradford Brown, Mitchell J. Prinstein
Number of pages9
PublisherAcademic press
Publication date2011
ISBN (Print)978-0-12-373915-5
ISBN (Electronic)978-0-12-373951-3
Publication statusPublished - 2011
MoE publication typeA3 Book chapter

Fields of Science

  • 516 Educational sciences
  • 515 Psychology

Cite this